Bringing Global Connections to Life in United Arab Emirates

iEARN-UAE and the Dubai Modern High School
iEARN-UAE and the Dubai Modern High School host the first Christopher Stevens Youth Network: Global Connections 2.0 Professional Development Workshop on February 9, 2013.

On February 9th, iEARN-UAE and the Dubai Modern High School hosted the first professional development workshop under the auspices of the new Chris Stevens Youth Network. The workshop marks the ninth year in which UAE teachers and students have participated in iEARN activities.

In 2005, Egyptian Association for Educational Resources received a MEPI grant from the US Embassy in UAE to initiate iEARN activities in partnership with the Information Resource Center at the Embassy, the Ministry of Education, and the Emirate of Fujairah. iEARN-Egypt provided 25 Emirati teachers from government schools with training and materials needed to join iEARN projects. Later that year, iEARN-USA hosted two teachers from the UAE attended the Master Trainer Seminar in New York City, and iEARN-Lebanon hosted two teachers at the BRIDGE Regional Conference in Beirut in July 2005. In July 2006, four teachers from UAE attended the Annual iEARN International Conference in Enschede, Netherlands.

Emirati teachers discuss iEARN projects at an April 2011 workshop made possible by the support of the Doris Duke Foundation for Islamic and Al Ameen Private School.
iEARN-UAE hosted a workshop for teachers in Abu Dhabi at Al Manhal International Private School on February 4th, 2012
iEARN-UAE hosted a workshop for teachers in Abu Dhabi at Al Manhal International Private School on February 4th, 2012

A recent highlight of iEARN-UAE participants has been the Finding Solutions to Hunger collaboration with schools in the US and other countries. Principal Fatima Martin of Al Ameen School in Dubai collected writings by students, including this poem by Khadija Aliasgar:

Homeless people

 Unhappy children

Need nutrition

Generosity needed

Eager to get fed

Raise money to help the needy.

Hunger is grey,

Like a rain cloud over my head

It sits in my heart,

Like a heavy load I have to carry.

It makes me feel scared,

Like when I’m away from my family.

It makes feel sorry for those who have no food.

Hunger is blue,

Like the depths of the ocean.

It tumbles through my mind,

Like a stone tumbling down a hill.

It makes me feel depressed,

Like a child whose parent

Can not feed him or her.

It makes me want to help somebody.

Hunger is brown,

Like a hollow log inside of me.

It flows through my body,

Like a raft on a river.

It makes me feel empty,

Like a shell that’s been left behind.

It makes me want to help others.

iEARN-USA is proud to be working with iEARN-UAE coordinator Ms. Basma Musamih and her teachers and students, and we’d love your help to increase the program’s impact by offering as many US and UAE teachers and students as possible to find solutions to hunger together, so that hunger is neither grey, blue, or brown, but just a fading memory for future generations.

Trenton, NJ - Dubai, UAE Finding Solutions to Hunger Videoconference (view from Dubai)
Trenton, NJ – Dubai, UAE Finding Solutions to Hunger Videoconference (view from Dubai)
Trenton, NJ - Dubai, UAE Finding Solutions to Hunger Videoconference (view from Trenton)
Trenton, NJ – Dubai, UAE Finding Solutions to Hunger Videoconference (view from Trenton)

2 thoughts on “Bringing Global Connections to Life in United Arab Emirates

  1. I bodimutelokoli known as martin B akulino looking for your support concerning the education in fact very much interesting,but the poverty are not aloud me to proceed on that is why,I took this opportunity to email you.I have got a nature talented also soccer and athletic etc and am sure if,I can be assisted,I can make it believe and sympathize with me.

    I mean if it,s impossible better you look to in touch me then.I mean also whichever you can offer at me am ready to role it.What am seeking is for your assistance(……….!) is or at least be able say that you have made me to know this or that.Happy new year.Hope for better future life from you.Shall be wait for your response.
    Thank you,
    Aduki cheers

  2. Can anyone please send me the e-mail id and contact numbers of Mrs. Fatima Martin principal of Al Ameen Private School, Dubai.
    Thank you,
    regards,
    Sumit Das

Leave a comment